Long Time No See & Sneak Peak Into The Future Posts

I know, I know, I’ve been busy, didn’t post in a while.  I needed a little break. Still need it now, but at least I got some time off from bad things that were happening when I thought nothing else could go wrong.

3 trips to Verona for the exhibition, my first exhibition there to be more precise. Some photos from the exhibition can be seen here. It was good, the people liked my work and there should be a couple more exhibitions on the way.

While things seemed to be ok, reality was a little different. That actually being the reason for this break. Before I left for London, disaster struck and forced me to use the services of a well known data recovery company that I didn’t want to use. Like all things in life that seem to be connected, when one thing goes wrong, many others follow and support is not there where you think it is. The winter was a bliss for those who love it, but for me, Christmas is just beginning to show up. New year’s eve also.

After nearly 2 months away from home and unfinished work piling up, we left for Freiburg, where Urma held their live performance during the Jawala Festival. I think there were close to 900 people for the concert and they had a good time. And not just young people. There were people of all ages, and I liked that. I was for the first time in Germany and I’ll surely return. There’s lots to be seen and the first impression was great. Lots of places on the list.

Last trip to Verona, which ended just yesterday actually had some skiing in it. Skiing was a vital occupation of mine, which had a critical pause when I broke my knee in April 2008 (torn ACL). That marked the time when I really started to study photography which slowly became what it is now, so I guess it’s true that everything has a meaning in life. But now it’s clear to me. Once you have it in you, you can’t rest apart from it for […]

Hit the jump for the rest of the story.

[…] too much time.

Monte Bondone was the first resort. Medium slopes in a not so good condition, but plenty of snow. White-out was the game of the day, because the fog was so thick that you could barely see your skis. They had some orange marking poles that miraculously appeared through the fog and showed the way. I mean, they showed the direction, but not the bumps and slope. It was a fun day. But that wasn’t all. Just before the slopes closed the sun came out and the fresh snow showed.  The final chairlift to the Palon peak showed this nice triangular face full of fresh, cold, powder snow that led into a closed slope that was closed because it was being groomed.

The skiing that I used to do was not on the slopes (not that I consider that Romania has such things), but on the valleys of the Bucegi Mountains. People laugh and say that you spend an entire day for one descent from Omu peak, but for me it’s as real as it gets. Being on the mountain is a real break from life and it has something that no groomed slope is ever going to replace. Even if the snow is bad and the crusty wind slabs are challenging every turn that you make, or the conditions are bad and you can’t ski because of the avalance risk, you’re still out there, on the mountain.

That being said, when I saw the fresh snow from the chairlift I just couldn’t resist. And that was by far the best run I had after a long time.

Thank you cellphone for this photo

Fai de Paganella was much better, with the best slopes I’ve ever seen and I’ll surely return to the Dolomites pretty soon, but for now I have to get in touch with my old life again.

The break just ended, there are lots of pictures to be processed and the days are so short. Here are a few, and only a few, with more to come soon.

~ by Radu Dumitrescu on March 3, 2010.

Leave a comment